Kristia S. / Mariella Hunt

MARIELLA’S FRIDAY MUSES: In Which Mariella Takes Over The Blog For A Day, Formally Introduces Herself, And Consults The Escapists On Audio Recording Stories.


THE MISSION: To give Friday a better reputation than it’s been getting lately, thanks to a certain song that I could mention but would rather not because it’d get stuck in my head and this would be a tragedy.

I’ve been waiting all week for a chance to post in here, and really post, not just an announcement or gushing on about a book I liked. I’ve looked forward to Friday with anticipation and also a little bit of panic. Because, you see how a lot of day-of-the-week bloggers have awesome segments with set themes on their day? Well, that’s not the case with me.

My name’s Mariella Cecilia Catherine-Rose Hunt. (Catherine-Rose is not on my birth certificate; it’s just my Confirmation name. But since it makes my name look epic to use it, I’ve included it in introductions for years now.) I like to consider myself an aspiring YA writer and perhaps someday people will read my books. I mean, for all the ideas that come into my head on a daily basis, at least one of them has to be good enough to become a bestseller. Because trust me, that’s a lot of ideas. So many that I’m afraid I won’t be able to write them all in my lifetime.

I live in Idaho with my parents and my brother. My amazing family are a great support and inspiration. I believe I got a spirit of perseverance from my mom: When she wants something, she gets it. And sometimes I think I’m like that, too, because when I want something…well, I’ll go to all lengths to get it. Even though I know when to admit defeat, I certainly don’t like it when I have to do that. The same goes with my books. For about 4 years now I’ve held a goal that I’m going to get published and people will read my books. And I’m still strong in that goal. It’s going to happen, because. Just because.

My book, The Wishing Well, reached the top 5 on inkpop and got a HarperCollins review; using their suggestions, I’m going to start editing it now and it’s going to be a masterpiece. Just because. I say so.

This blog? It’s almost as special to me as my books that are so close to my heart. And it’s going to be big. Because I say so.

And it’s not my intention to sound mean or stuck-up. But my point is that I’m barely beginning my journey in pursuit of my dream, and I’m going to share this with you guys as I go. I can’t wait to get to know you better. I’m sure we’re going to be great friends.

I like music. A Fine Frenzy is one of my favorite bands. Now I’m going to stop talking about me, but share with you one of the songs I enjoy most. Listen to the lyrics.

Each week, I will make up for my lack of theme by bringing up a topic that I hope interests you guys as much as it interests me. Something you can meditate on, I suppose, for the rest of the week until Friday comes again. This will last for as long as I go without a theme. But like Jenn said, I can have the random segment because I have no theme, so long as I blog every Friday about something interesting.

Today, I wanted to tell you about several things. First, somewhat of an announcement. The Escapism Project is now on Twitter, and since joining we’ve gotten a lot more pageviews and even a few new followers. I offer these new followers a warm welcome. Thanks for joining us on this experiment! Let’s see how colorful we can get this word collage to become. All our followers and readers have a chance at a guest blog post, so just comment or message Mariella if you’re interested.

The idea to start an official Twitter for Escapism was Kristia’s. Thanks! It really works! :D

Next, I wanted to ask: What do you think about podcasts?

Anyone who knows me well is aware that I struggle with Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (and if you’re a really good friend of mine you probably put up with me whining about it 45% of the time.) This makes being a writer problematic, because how can I write all the ideas that I mentioned come to my head…if it hurts to write even a decent-sized blog post?

So the other day, I got an idea, that since I get so many ideas in the first place, perhaps I could record some of them and write them later. It gets loud in my head when there’s too many stories, and scenes that want to be put into words. It’s kind of escapism, but in reverse–the ideas want to escape from my head. Isn’t that funny? My phone has a voice memo recorder. I think it would be fun to give it a try. I would not only be getting more ideas out of my head than usual, but I’d also be practicing speaking out loud, and maybe I can have a radio show someday (ha ha. *sarcasm*)

I really think I’m going to go for it. I have nothing to lose. Maybe if I really like it, I’ll share some of the audio clips for you guys to hear. There could be an Escapism project podcast.

My question now is: Would you do a podcast? Would you narrate your story to a microphone? Do you think that it would give your story more life, or do you believe that stories ought to be strictly on paper only?

Maybe we can eventually have a contest on here with narrated stories on audio clips. We can vote on which audio clip was the best.

But first I’d like you guys to comment and let me know what you think. Give me feedback on the idea in general, and then on whether you’d do the contest or not. It would be stepping out of the box. It’s sort of escapism, done differently.

In fact, I think I’m going to do my first audio recording tonight. I don’t know if I’ll share it, since it’ll be the very first one. But I think it’ll be fun.

Expect another blog post with more general updates tonight, because there’s a lot going on that I think you guys will like. :)

I’m waiting! Let the comments roll in! And if you don’t comment, it would upset me greatly. Don’t upset me. It wouldn’t be nice. >.>

2 thoughts on “MARIELLA’S FRIDAY MUSES: In Which Mariella Takes Over The Blog For A Day, Formally Introduces Herself, And Consults The Escapists On Audio Recording Stories.

  1. Rolling comments? How about flying comments? *flings one in Mariella's direction* :PI think the audio clip / podcast idea sounds totally awesome! I know my Dad has some stuff that he uses to record my mom whenever they practice music downstairs, and I bet he'd let me use it…*is getting really excited* I'd get to pull out all my public speaking / dramatic reading skills! Muahahaha! *wonders if there's some way she could try it out tonight*

Leave a Reply

