Uncategorized

I’ll take a Baker’s dozen please…


13 R3asons Why By: Jay Asher


Okay guys, sorry it took me so long this is my first public book review so you’re going to have to bear with me. I finished Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher a few weeks ago and I really enjoyed it. I feel its a must read for teens especially those in high school.

Synopsis taken from the website:

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list. Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.


Now, I’m a psych major at a huge university and I know a lot about suicide. Jay Asher definitely did his research. In order for a person to commit suicide and not just attempt a person has to have a plan and a way to carry it out, of course Hannah had both. She was depressed and it’s obvious throughout the book that all of the little things that were done to her may not hurt a normal person but to a person struggling the way she was it was huge.

Plot wise, I give this book a 4 out of 5. For most this was probably a 5 out of 5 but I’m a dark person and I feel like her reasons just weren’t good enough. I was expecting a big bang and I got let down big time. The big shocker just wasn’t big enough for me. It’s also not something I would have done.

I love that there is a website for this book and a campaign. I also love that you can listen to the tapes on Youtube and hear Hannah’s voice. It kind of makes things real.



Overall, this book sends your body into a emotional tailspin. I found myself laughing with Clay and then consumed with sadness at the same time for Hannah. There were times where I was wishing she was still a live and there was some mix-up.

Onto the characters… I found Clay to be nice, charming at times. It was obvious he was conflicted but I wish we ‘d been given more. I think Jay could have gone into depth with him.

Hannah was funny at times I actually laughed but she was also whiny and weak too. I would have liked to see her stronger but I guess it wouldn’t have really fit the plot.

This book is more then the suicide it actually shows how the little things count and made me realize that saying hi to someone random is a good thing. You never know you might just change their life.

So, what are you waiting for? Go check it out.
<3
_ Isabel D

One thought on “I’ll take a Baker’s dozen please…

  1. I love books like this and I've actually been planning on reading this for a while. Now I really, really want to read it because of this review :) I'm definitely going to read it now and soon. Like next week :)

Leave a Reply

