Uncategorized

YA Books and History.


*WARNING. This post is a bit rambling/confusing. Proceed with caution. And a lot of it.*


Hello, Escapists!

Originally I was going to do a vlog for this, but I haven’t gotten my webcam yet (I forgot my card when I went to the plaza. I still haven’t found it, either :/ ) so you’re stuck with simply reading. But that really shouldn’t be TOO hard for you guys, it just might damage your eyes in the far far future if your screen’s too bright.

Just sayin’.

Anyway, for those who don’t know me very well, I am big on patriotism. The definition (as found by the fabulous Google) of patriot is someone who feels a strong support for their country; someone who’s proud of their country.

I dig that.

I’m a decently sized patriot (I reckon) and I love my country so much it’s indescribably. Aussie aussie aussie, oi oi oi! Vegemite and all that jazz. I won’t go into details (now. Albus only knows I’ll start ranting later) but I seriously love my country.

To me, loving your country means loving its history, even if it’s awful and selfish and makes you want to rage. Even if it’s dumb-awful, your country wouldn’t be where it is today without it. Sorta important.

There are a lot of Australian historical fiction books out there. Books on the Eureka Stockade, the Gold Rush, the War, the Indigenous people, the Stolen Generation. We’ve got a lot of history for such a baby country. I like to think of us as a fat toddler. We’re young, only around 223-230 years old if we’re counting since the Brits took over, and big. Biggest island country, um, yeah. Jackie French is one such author. So is Kirsty Murray, who wrote a lot of Irish-Australian historical fiction. I highly recommend both of them. Most of their books are YA and revolving around a significant event from Australia’s past.

The sad fact is that there ain’t many historical events playing big parts in YA books anymore.

American books? I can place two YA books that I’ve read that have historical events or legends playing a crucial part. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl and The Hollow by Jessica Verday. Wonderful!

Beautiful Creatures mentioned a part of the Civil War as a vital part of the story and that was awesome. I know NOTHING about the Civil War. I don’t learn about the history of other countries in school and I don’t think you guys do either. What I’ve learnt about America comes from the Simpsons and the classroom scenes in American movies. No joke.

The Hollow used a famous American story, the Legend of Sleepy Hollow and based a series off of it and the possibilities that the story was real. Wicked!

I learnt so much off of these books. I want to learn more. I feel like a big claw machine, trying to suck in as many historically-based books as possible and store them in my library for others to see but never ever touch.

But I can’t find any. *cries*

Sure, there are YA historical fictions out there. There are heaps! But not a lot of them actually revolve around a true event, a significant event. Like I said, I’ve never read any YA American historical fictions, only books based off of the history.

So, WHERE ARE THEY?  WHERE ARE THE AMERICAN YA HISTORICAL BOOKS? HMM? Or Canadian? Never read a Canadian book with history.

Good thing I didn’t do a vlog. I’d be screaming at the screen.

Basically, the point of this post is to say we need more YA books with history in them. It doesn’t have to be set in the past, but just some history in there somewhere would be great.

To love your country is to love your history, and sorry, but I’m not seeing too much of that and boy, does that get me down.
I hope this post made some sense to you because I’m a bit frazzled at the moment and can’t think straight. I also hope it made you want to write more YA historical books.

(If I get time, I might edit the shizz out of this and make it easier to understand)


Ciao ciao!
Leave a Reply

