Uncategorized

Poet’s Corner – A Poison Tree.


Hello again dear readers, I’ve decided to move the day for the Poet’s Corner from Wednesday at midnight to Thursday at midnight due to Classic Wednesdays already being on a Wednesday. Also sorry about not posting Saturday, I forgot and have made the decision to keep the Poet’s Corner weekly.

Today we shall be sharing a famous poem by one of my favourite poets – William Blake’s “A Poison Tree”. The reason I enjoy this poem so much is because it reads so smoothly, the rhythm and rhyme of the poem are really well wrote. The moral behind the poem is also well set out, shown in the first stanza then illustrated by the rest.

Blake is a famous poet, painter and printer (and happens to be one of my personal favourite poets, so sorry for the glut of Blake’s to come). From a young age he believed that he had visions, these visions seemed to greatly influence his works, with him claiming to have learnt the printing methods he used in his most famous work “Songs of Innocence” from the spirit of his dead brother. Blake was vastly under-rated and often considered insane in his own life, but his poetry and art became more popular after his death, as is so common with many great artists. A Poison Tree was published in the book “Songs Of Experience” in 1789.

.

A Poison Tree.

.

I was angry with my friend:

I told my wrath, my wrath did end.

I was angry with my foe:

I told it not, my wrath did grow.

And I watered it in fears

Night and morning with my tears,

And I sunned it with smiles

And with soft deceitful wiles.

And it grew both day and night,

Till it bore an apple bright,

And my foe beheld it shine,

And he knew that it was mine,

And into my garden stole

When the night had veiled the pole;

In the morning, glad, I see

My foe outstretched beneath the tree.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

.

Thanks goes to poets.org for the words of A Poison Tree, and for the information I have summarised into Blake’s very abridged biography.

2 thoughts on “Poet’s Corner – A Poison Tree.

Leave a Reply

