Syd

Here, Syd says some stuff and shares photographs and wears a bandana.


Ignore my stupid face.
That is a dumb request because if I wanted you to ignore it, I would not have posted it…
So scratch that, and stare back into my awkward eyes.
I am back now, and that’s all I have to say about that.
Last Thursday, September 8, Tegan posted about Writing Rules (Question Mark). She basically asked if there were really solid rules we have to follow when writing. There are so many RULES by which we have to abide to make it ‘good writing’…according to ‘them (the others).’
She concluded by saying, take a chill pill and write the way you want to write.
I replied with the comment:
A.M.E.N. TO THIS.
I have a tendency to write in the style of the classics. I read absolutely NO modern literature, modern meaning post-1950, with a few exceptions, because it is so shallow and…all the SAME. Everyone needs to write in their OWN style. However I disagree with acronyms and incorrect basic grammar rules, but there is NO SET WAY TO WRITE. That’s why we write. To be OURSELVES.

This is true, because we all have different styles. However, I HATE acronyms and incorrect basic grammar, as I stated in the comment, and if I were an editor, these two things I would refuse to approve. If you are writing in your journal, that’s fine with me, or a message/text to a friend (although I still keep these ‘rules’). But when you are writing a novel and want other people to read it, and if it is supposed to be the revised draft, I believe you should correct all that.
What about rough drafts? Shoot, go ahead and do whatever you have to do to get the novel down. I’m just saying in the revised draft, I think there are some guidelines set to keep. There is such thing as correct spelling (unless with names of things) and punctuation.
Like Tegan pointed out, sometimes authours spell things differently though. Example A in the previous sentence. I spell things with -ou or with -s instead of -z, like recognise and authourity and et cetera. I do change this when I am writing papers for school or I will when I send off a manuscript to be published…although it will be really hard! Because that is how American grammar is.
On style: everyone has their own style. Writers tend to, when they give tips to other writers, help them adapt their OWN style. Face it, it’s hard to give tips to someone without letting your style influence what you say. I know I have done it. Especially with me, it is hard, because I read only older literature (pre-1950 with few exceptions), so my writing style is very classic and bold while still being modern enough to where people would…actually read it.
Not everyone is going to like my writing style, and others will love it. It’s going to happen. Pacifism in any sense is a total myth unless you have ZERO identity and are a robot. So you may as well be yourself in your writing. Some will hate it. Some will adore it. Guaranteed.
Point of the Post: BE YOURSELF IN YOUR WRITING. LET YOUR OWN STYLE REFLECT WHO YOU ARE INSIDE. DON’T LET ANYONE TELL YOU HOW TO WRITE.
Write how you write. Go. Do it.
And submit to the 500-word contest.
Love and Antique Clocks,
syd
(2006)
Leave a Reply

