Uncategorized

Seasonal Reading…Do They Entice Your Reading Experience?


    

Hello, fellow Escapists!

Me in Winter 2010

   How are you this fine, wonderful day? Feeling the urge to escape into another realm, where there is no such thing as school, college, gripping teachers, unclear school assignments that you have no idea where to start or how to end it, and maybe you just want to get away from the big B (the Boss in the work place)? Well, I’m all of those except for the last one, I don’t have a job as of yet. But college is kind of a stitch in my side. However, last week wasn’t too bad, so far I have As and almost Bs in my classes. *gasp* I can’t believe it!
  So my dear lovelies, this is why I haven’t been blogging in our beloved blog lately. :( It makes me sick to not be with you all, my dears! Blame my dag’gone homework! Mainly, Psychology, getting a 40-60 paged chapter read and studied in a week, it’s hard.

  Anyways, onto my blog post.
   I said in the blog title “Seasonal Reading…Do They Entice Your Reading Experience?”. In my opinion, yes. Because I have experienced a book in the season that it was plotted in. And that book is “Need” by Carrie Jones. I got it around winter of last year or the year before. It’s hard to tell the differences between winters. (lol)

 
Beautiful cover, eh?
Zara collects phobias the way other high school girls collect lipsticks. Little wonder, since life’s been pretty rough so far. Her father left, her stepfather just died, and her mother’s pretty much checked out. Now Zara’s living with her grandmother in sleepy, cold Maine so that she stays “safe.” Zara doesn’t think she’s in danger; she thinks her mother can’t deal.
Wrong. Turns out that guy she sees everywhere, the one leaving trails of gold glitter, isn’t a figment of her imagination. He’s a pixie—and not the cute, lovable kind with wings. He’s the kind who has dreadful, uncontrollable needs. And he’s trailing Zara.

    This a really good Pixie book. Unfortunately, I haven’t gotten around to reading the next two, soon to be three. :( Life and school gets in the way. I reccomend it if anyone if up for a fall/winter read.
  However, as I was saying about seasonal reading enticing and enhancing your reading experience. It being winter when I read Need, indeed enhanced my experience while reading. Everytime I would go outside or get close to a snowy road down my driveway, I would think of Need and the Pixies. I’d be a tad bit cautious of my woods around me, thinking that the Pixie King might want to plant one on me, to make me a friggin’ Pixie Queen. Or I would be thinking of a sweetheart wolf coming to my rescue. Also, the feeling of it being cold outside and seeing the snow fall down as you read about snow falling down in Need, it gave you more of a sense and connection to Zara.
   So yes, the season does enhance my reading experience, only if the book is place in the same season. But however, I do feel connected to all books whenever I read them. It seems it’s increased in these cases. Like “Shiver” by Maggie Steivater, I read it during winter as well, and felt connected to Sam and Grace a bit more.

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without. Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.”

QUICK ME FACT:  I rather read during fall and winter months. I don’t know why, but it just seems like a reading time for me. Fall in my favorite season, because it’s between summer and winter, two seasons I don’t really care for. Summer is too hot, I hate sweating, and winter is too cold, I don’t like freezing. So fall is a bit of both, making the temprature perfect for my taste.

  Does a seasonal reading make your reading experience better? If so, why or if not, why not? What are the reads that was extra electrifying during a certain season? Heck, what’s your favorite season to read/write in? Give me some feedback, please, I really enjoy feedback.

  P.S DUUUUUUUDE, I’m hyperventilating here! I might get to meet Alex Flinn the author of BEASTLY! She’s coming to my local book festival this year! JUST found out! I’m excited!
2 thoughts on “Seasonal Reading…Do They Entice Your Reading Experience?

  1. This was a very interesting post! Something I'd never thought about before — and for good reason, since from what I can recall (I have a notoriously short memory when it comes to details), I haven't been lucky enough to have a book coincide with the season I'm currently in. What I've found, though, is that I enjoy the contrast of off-season books. Reading a book with vivid descriptions of winter when it's the middle of summer has something of a novelty about it, since it really takes me away. Same goes for books about summer that I read in January. The only thing that annoys me about the seasonal aspect of a book is where the author fails to indicate the season until halfway through the book. (Wait, what? It's winter??)You've piqued my curiosity. Now I'll have to go search for a book that takes place in the fall. :)

Leave a Reply

