Uncategorized

NaNoWriMo: Write-Ins


Hello dearies! The lovely Anna has blogged on this subject before but I thought I might add a little input about something I’m going to do today. Write-Ins.

In the total of my NaNo life I have gone to two write-ins. Both of them were amazing and both of them were  worth going to. The first write-in I went to was thirty-five minutes away. The second write-in I went to was four hours away. Do you see what I’m saying here?

Writing is fun and you might not even have considered it before. Or you might think that it will be weird or you might think that it will be hard but whatever you have thought before about write-ins please put them away for a moment while I give you a list of the reasons why you should go to a write-in.

  1. Despite popular belief, you do get writing done. In fact sometimes it’s easier because you have a group of like minded people cheering you on and warring with you to reach the highest words.
  2. It’s a good time to socialize when you’ve pretty much canceled all other social activities to get writing done.
  3. It’s an amazing experience to be with other writers. No matter how old, how weird and how writerly. 

Now, what are you waiting for? Get out and go to one of these events or plan one yourself!

I’m going one in a few hours that I planned myself in a state I do not live in. Yes, it’s that worth it.

Meanwhile make sure you take plenty of breaks and stretch out your wrists. I got Carpal Tunnel last year and, as you may know, Mariella had it as well. It’s not a fun thing but you can prevent it. Use your keyboard in the right way, exercise your wrists and take plenty of breaks. If you feel pain, stop writing immediately. Even if you are at write-in, the others will understand. They’re writers, remember?

Anyway, my wrists are starting to hurt a tiny bit so I’m going to turn in for the night. I hope you all have a fabulous day and don’t forget to try at least one write-in!

-Jenn-

Leave a Reply

