Uncategorized

Do you have a love for innocent romances? I do! ALSO, I something AMAZING to share with you about Alex Flinn! :D You have visit to find out!


Hello, escapists!

I have been doing a lot of the blogging on this blog lately, I see. Oh well, I like blogging and everyone must be busy. I understand that, because I’m always busy with school, church, writing, and ect…

Anyways, I just recently got obsessed with an old obsession I had around last year or the year before last. It’s called “Howl’s Moving Castle” the anime movie, based on the book by Diane Wynne Jones (Rest In Peace, God Bless her for her battle with cancer last year. </3). I got back into this movie because it’s the same director as Arrietty, that new movie that just came out. And also it brings back memories as a kid for me when I was obsessed with “Kiki’s Delivery Service”. :)

I am absolutely IN LOVE with Howl’s movie. I really don’t know why though. Well, for one Christian Bale is voicing Howl, I love me some Bale (haha), for two Billy Crystal is playing the fire demon Calcifer, and for three the innocent and cute romance that’s not blasted into it (which I wish they would have blasted more into it in my opinion) every aspect of it. Sophie and Howl is too CUTE! They fall in love even when Sophie is cursed to be a 90 year old woman!

I’ll share the info on the book below. :)

~

In the land of Ingary, such things as spells, invisible cloaks, and seven-league boots were everyday things. The Witch of the Waste was another matter.

After fifty years of quiet, it was rumored that the Witch was about to terrorize the country again. So when a moving black castle, blowing dark smoke from its four thin turrets, appeared on the horizon, everyone thought it was the Witch. The castle, however, belonged to Wizard Howl, who, it was said, liked to suck the souls of young girls.

The Hatter sisters–Sophie, Lettie, and Martha–and all the other girls were warned not to venture into the streets alone. But that was only the beginning.

In this giant jigsaw puzzle of a fantasy, people and things are never quite what they seem. Destinies are intertwined, identities exchanged, lovers confused. The Witch has placed a spell on Howl. Does the clue to breaking it lie in a famous poem? And what will happen to Sophie Hatter when she enters Howl’s castle?

~
I haven’t read the book yet, but I have watched the movie and am currently obsessed with it. :) I just ordered the trilogy tonight so I can read them. <3 If I love the movie, I’ll most likely love the books too. :)
Anyways, I love this story/plot so much.
Also, I LOVE Pete Wenz now.
This is why… look at his tattoo and now at the Anime version of Howl’s Moving Castle. <3! He must love it too! <3
Howl&Sophie <3!

SO when I get the books and read them, I’ll review them for you guys. Thought I’d share on this. Letting you guys know of a great story!
What’s your favorite child like book/movie?
Have you seen and read Howl’s Moving Castle?
Let me know!
;)
Now, for the something AMAZING!
Okay, remember that Book Festival I talked about in October? Where I and fellow escapist Hannah H met Alex Flinn the author of Beastly?
Well…I GOT HER EMAIL SO WE CAN INTERVIEW HER FOR THE BLOG! I know, I know, I’m late on this. :/ But life is hectic when it come to COLLEGE, and also we’ve been sort of on a break with the blog.
Okay you guys, I need your help!
Here’s how you can help us with this interview with Alex Flinn!
1.) Go to the FORUM at the top Menu bar of the blog.
2.) Click it
3.) Register as a new user with a snazzy username and all ;)
4.) Find my post of “Alex Flinn Interview Questions”
5.) Hit “reply” on it and post a question you would like to ask Alex Flinn
6.) Hit “Post”
I and Mariella will be selecting which questions we’ll put into the interview. We might use them all, depending on how many replies there is. :) Also feel free to stay on the forum too! We’ll be doing some fun and interesting stuff on there when we get more users! :D
Well, I’m off to take a quiz in Fine Arts. Yeppie! NOT!
Night!


2 thoughts on “Do you have a love for innocent romances? I do! ALSO, I something AMAZING to share with you about Alex Flinn! :D You have visit to find out!

  1. Ah! I love Howl's Moving Castle! I fell in love with the book, and the movie sent my sister and me on a quest to watch as many Miyazaki films as we could in as short a time period as possible. And they're all AMAZING.Just warning you: The movie and book are very different, though both are equally amazing. And the two sequels aren't as good. :((I just went Googling to find the end-scene kiss, and ended up spending half an hour looking at Disney clips from Howl's Moving Castle and, somehow, Quest for Camelot.)I realized this is the best part of Middle Grade, if you know how to appreciate it: The innocent not-quite-romance. It's so subtle, but that's what makes it adorable and amazing, no matter what age you are. It's like Finding Nemo: There's something that you can appreciate, no matter how old you are.And, man. Holy Hotness, HOWL.

  2. One of my college English Major friends and I just watched this Friday night. I had never seen it before, so she suggested I watch it instead of How to Train Your Dragon (which I assume we will watch later).I have to say, I loved HMC. Howl is dashing, the romance is subtle and cute, and the humor is brilliant! I truly enjoyed that little break from school, and I am up for watching it again later. I also heard that the book is really good, albeit different than the movie … though I was told the sequels weren't as good, for some reason. I do want to read the book to see for myself. I cannot wait for your reviews!I hope your Spring Semester has been going well thus far, Kristia! I have been quiiiite busy. I do have something to post about, but it is just a matter of having time to sit down and write one out. Meh.-Anna

Leave a Reply

