Uncategorized

Published!


It brings me great pleasure to announce that my book, Cursed with Power, is being published.  First, though, let me tell you how this all started.
I have been writing ever since I can remember, but I distinctly remember at the age of 12 I was fascinated with the idea of writing short stories.  One of these short stories I wrote titled There Is No Magic Here later on evolved into my first novel, The Magic of Light.  Despite the many flaws this book had, it was also my first adventure into the magical world.  I was amazed with the thoughts of Good and Dark magicians struggling in a world of their own.
Years passed.  I continued on with fantasy books; some focusing yet again on the struggles in the magical world, others revolving around the idea of characters seeking an escape from their “prison” in society.  However, none of these books kept me content for very long.
Two years ago I devolved the plot that gave birth to Cursed with Power.  The story and the characters felt real to me; I loved the idea.  Finally it seemed the Dark and Good magicians had a place in this world I had been working and searching for years to create.  The story is told from the viewpoint of Celestria Hale, a Dark magician, who finds out she is one of the five last remaining of her kind.  Unfortunately for her, the Good magicians will stop at nothing to kill the last of her existence.

When I finished Cursed with Power I began the long journey of querying agents and publishers.  First I tackled agents, hoping they may be more lenient toward me.  However, the rejections flowed in, and I was instantly horrified.  It was then that I took a break from querying and returning to reworking the book for another year, even making sure that I did research on the background and history of 16th century Romania.
Yet when I returned once again to the publishing world, I realized it was no easier than it had been before.  I struggled, and at times all that gave me faith were my dedicated fans.  Whether they had read one chapter or  a majority of the book, they were my purpose to continue on.  I promised myself that my readers mattered; they were in my thoughts while I wrote, and I would walk through fire –so to speak–to share this story with the world.
I learned from rejections all you can do is move on, become better, and work toward being everything you want to do.  If you’re not presenting your very best, then work it out until you are –that way no one will reject because they see your full potential.
I am extremely pleased and grateful that I will be signing on with Old Line Publishing.  I never really had a “dream” publisher; in my mind, I just wanted someone who would accept my genre and take care of my “baby.”  After all, I spent so many years putting together the book.  With Old Line, I could not be any happier.

Without making this too much longer, I hope I’ve answered questions on the journey of publication.  I’ll be working on edits all this summer to be hopefully –as planned–releasing Cursed with Power in September. To aspiring authors, I encourage you to pursue your dream.  If somebody tells you that you can’t write, prove them wrong –show them your passion.  Rejections are not your end, but rather your beginning.  They’ll keep you in line, and in the end when you do receive an acceptance you’ll be that much more grateful.  Writing is not work; it’s a passion and a dedication.  If you can find a story to dedicate and commit to, then that’s the story you should remain loyal to.
If you’d like me to post anything else later on, please let me know.  I will be checking back in to respond to questions.  Thank you all, and I look forward to discussing more about this process soon!
Lindsey R. Sablowski


Facebook for CWP: http://www.facebook.com/groups/142263712518951/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/lindseysnowbaby
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lindsey.sablowskee
Blog: http://www.lrenees-fictionalwriter.blogspot.com

4 thoughts on “Published!

  1. Sorry Isabel, I thought I had answered your question earlier! Anyways, Old Line is a publishing company in Maryland. My book will be in stores, online, on Nook and Kindles and the like!

  2. Congrats! I loved reading about your journey to getting published. I've recently finished my first novel and I just found an agent this month. Fortunately, I found an agent the same month I started sending out queries so although I received a load of rejections, my one acceptance made up for it. Right now I've been going through the revisions that my agent has suggested so that my book will finally be publishing ready. Hopefully I will be just as lucky as you are. Good luck with your book! And thanks for posting!lillyrosereadersnetwork.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

