Mariella Hunt

REVIEW: Vampire’s Kiss by Veronica Wolff


3/5 Stars

I got this book for free in the mail. It is book two of a Young Adult vampire series called The Watchers. Being the escapist I am, I enjoyed reading this book and I’m glad I get to review it. Even though it’s not exactly my taste, it was a decent, quick read. Here are my thoughts:
I think a lot of my confusion regarding this book was due to the fact that I hadn’t read book 1 before picking it up. This took away from my reading experience, so I don’t want to be too harsh on the story itself, which I’ll add here, is a good one. For a vampire novel the characters were crafted pretty well and the settings believable.
As a book itself I liked it. My only critique is that in general it sounds a lot like every other vampire book that’s out there lately. They’re not bad stories, but I’d appreciate a bit of originality when it comes to the subject. I enjoyed reading Vampire’s Kiss but I’d have liked it better if I didn’t keep thinking about the Marked or Blue Bloods series. It’ll make my year if someone will suggest to me a vampire book that stands out, because even though this book was decent, it doesn’t exactly stand out in that variety of vamp books we have out there.
There were some passages I did enjoy and I’ll quote one of them on here. In general I liked this book but I’m not sure I’d read it again unless I was looking for a quick read. It wasn’t boring but it wasn’t that original either. I give it three out of five stars. And now, for the excerpt I enjoyed:

“But some of those other guys were monks once,” I whispered quickly, desperate now to convince him. The closer we got to Alcantara, the more distant my chances became. “How bad could they be?”
“We’re vampires,” Carden said under his breath. He met my eyes then, and his were bleak. “We’re all bad.” Page 261

Leave a Reply

