Uncategorized

Required Reading Cramping My Pleasure Reading


Hello, all,

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, and it’s the first time on the reopening of the site. :) I have missed this like my lungs after holding my breath. (lol)

I’ll give you guys an update on me and my life real quickly. I’m in my second year of college right now, (currently writing this post in the Quiet Study at school), and it’s getting harder with each passing semester. My first year wasn’t any comparison to this year. It’s getting crazy. I’m spending twelve hours at the school, two days out of the week.

Any who, the past year has been crazy busy for me. I haven’t even had time to post on my personal blog. But however, I am making time for blogging now.

Okay, seriously, my school schedule, required reading, textbook reading, and homework, I have barely the time to pleasure read anymore! But I have good news though. In my Appalachian Culture Humanities class we are required to read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, because District 12 is in West Virginia, and it’s where I love. We also are reading a West Virginian book titled Storming Heaven by Denise Gardinia, that follows the coal mining wars in West Virginia. We will be having Denise coming into our class some time this semester, so that has me excited.

So that part of required reading doesn’t suck! I love the Hunger Games, and I’m going to like Storming Heaven.

But anyways, where I am getting at is. Does school get in your way of pleasure reading? That you just don’t have the time or energy to read anything other than the school material? Do you feel a withdrawal from reading your favorite genre? Is there a way to balance your pleasure reading and required reading? Or is it a bad idea to pleasure read during school months?

Give me your thoughts!

Kristia S. <3

2 thoughts on “Required Reading Cramping My Pleasure Reading

  1. And you live in District 12! :D

    Pleasure reading during school time is hard but not impossible. Pick one book and read tiny bits daily. Don’t pressure yourself–you want to enjoy the book after all–but keep the book within sight. We all need an escape now and then during school.

    • I totally agree with you! :) But what if this person say,,,has a library book and it’s due in like a week? *cough* not me *cough* Well, maybe it is. LOL I’ve got Jeyn Robert’s new book Rage Within that I have been DYING to read, and I haven’t had the wits or energy to read it. </3 I think I might tackle it this weekend though, along with my class's Storming Heaven.

Leave a Reply

