Uncategorized

The Evolution of Mara Dyer Review


The Evolution of Mara Dyer Review

WARNING: SPOILERS
If you have not read The Evolution of Mara Dyer, this may contain spoilers, especially toward Mara’s sanity and the ending.

I read The Evolution of Mara Dyer a while ago, but I recently reread it and The Unbecoming a few days ago. Then, I remembered why I hadn’t reread it since October, minus the fact that I kept getting more books: I couldn’t make it to the end without crying. About at the point when Mara and Noah fight is when they started and it was an on and off waterfall until the end, when the dam kind of let the rest of the waterworks flow. I wish that I could be bottled up and kept on Noah’s bookshelf until The Retribution, but I don’t think Mara would let me in there. And I doubt that his ghost would be too happy about me living in his bedroom for a few months. All I know is that The Retribution can’t come soon enough!

Now, onto the actual book: If it was possible for the characters to be developed even more, they would’ve been. As it was, I found myself picturing Noah and Mara (mainly them) as 3D people more and more and, like I said, by the end of the book, I was pretty much sobbing and strangling Dr. Kells.

I’m almost ashamed to admit this, but I dogeared a few pages with my favorite parts. For example: the page where Mara says that Phoebe is batbleep crazy and Jamie claps and applauds her for the extremely appropriate usage of the phrase. That might have possibly been my favorite part in the entire book, just because I love Jamie.

Two people I didn’t like? Mara’s parents. yes, they tried to help Mara and yes they thought they were doing what was best for her, but did they ever stop and try to listen to what she was saying? They just thought that she was crazy and that they could pass it off as delusions and that medicating her was the solution (pardon the passion about that, I just finished a mock trial group that dealt with insanity and Prozac for a case). The only people that really believed her were Noah and Jamie (but Jamie didn’t really know what was going on). And, of course, Mara’s EX-boyfriend, as she stated vehemently at least three times to the same person.

And, lastly, I must state that I don’t think Noah is really dead. He can’t be. Mara still has to make it through one more book and, unless Noah somehow heals himself or didn’t actually die, I doubt she’ll make it, strong as she is.

Now, if she can just keep herself from going insane in a mental hospital…

Leave a Reply

