Uncategorized

Poetry advice : getting in shape!


Image

 

Forme (French noun) meaning shape – hence the box above.

I know my titles are strange, but bear with me. 

I mentioned this in my earlier post Making a mountain out of a mole hill that there were many ways one could go about creating this mountain. I mean, as I said before you have your mole hill – which will be the inkling of an idea, the theme and maybe a message you want to include – but then you’ve got to build up from that! You’ve got to make your poem reach mount everest! 

Aha! Alright maybe that’s a little too much for some of you, but we’ll keep it around the size of those display model mountains, kay? 

Alright, so let me get started on talking about forms. 

What kind of poem did we say we were going to write? Oh yes! A poem about love, and we’ll use another clichéd topic on love and that is … betrayal! Yes, we all know the two come hand in hand, don’t we? Now, there are a great many forms that have been used to depict these two things but I do believe the most common form of a love poem would be that of a ballad. 

I don’t have enough time, unfortunately, to go over the entire form step by step but here’s a helpful little link for you : http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/ballads-a-traditional-form-of-poetry.html visit this link and you’ll learn all about how to write a ballad. 

Now the second most common form for a love poem would be the Shakesperian sonnet or simply a sonnet. Here’s another helpful link to learn about that form, too : http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/writing-a-sonnet.html now that you know about those two common forms, you could write a beautiful love poem. 

Now that’s your challenge! Try writing a love poem and get back to me, eh? I’ll keep the other kinds of forms tucked in my pocket for a later date, but you’ve got these two, right? I’ll even talk about iambic pentameter and rhythm later on, too. 

Just you wait! 

Write on. 

Leave a Reply

