Uncategorized

How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?


Image

Welcome back to reading one of my posts again, I know it must be hard to get through but you’ve done it! I’ve seen my posts getting some likes, so there must be some people who have bothered to click on this and take to reading it. 

Today, since I mentioned it in one of my previous posts, we’ll be talking about rhetorical and stylistic devices in poetry. I can picture those of you who are new to poetry wondering what the heck I’m talking about, but this is actually quite simple. I’ll introduce you to the more popular and well used of these devices because there are quite a few. I’ll even add a website for your consultation. 

Alright, let’s begin with the stylistic devices. These are always great to be used in poetry, but you can include them in anything! 

Metaphore : “It’s raining cats and dogs!” – used to add descriptive meaning without using like or as. 

Simile : “You’re heart is cold as ice, my friend.” – comparing one thing to another using like or as.

Personification : “The door screamed in protest as it opened…” – adding human characteristics to otherwise innate objects. 

Symbolism : “I saw red.” – using a person, place, object or colour to represent something else. In this case red symbolises anger, rage, hatred, etc. 

Now, because I can’t spend all day listing these devices (there are a ton). I will now pass on to rhetorical devices. The rhetorical devices are less common but are used nontheless. The most common of rhetorical devices are the metaphore (yes it is a rhetorical device as well) and the use of irony. 

I’m sure I don’t have to define the meaning of irony, right? You’ve all had cases where it was present, it happens a lot. 

Now, in rhetorical devices there are the use of sonic devices. These devices are trained for “sound”. Poetry is often meant to be read aloud, and thus these devices are meant to be used in order to accentuate certain things in the poem. 

An example of sonic devices would be an Onomatopeia. 

Boom! Kapow! Cough! Huff! Screech! Tik, tok! Thwap!

These are words that emulate sounds. This is often seen in comic strips or cartoons. Though, a friend of mine has written a poem using nothing but onomatopeia’s so I’m sure you could use them like that as well.

Alright, well that’s all I’ve got for now, but – for your consultation – check out these links for more information on rhetorical and stylistic devices and I hope to see them used in poetry soon! 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhetorical_devices

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stylistic_Devices

Leave a Reply

