Book Reviews / Manuel S.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer Review


“Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . . 

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.”

 

Cinder_hi-res1-678x1024

Pages: 387

Genre: Romance/Science Fiction

Publication Date: January, 2012

My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

So after hearing so much about this book, I finally caved in and read it. I finished it in less than a day and I really loved. Loved it? you may ask, then why did you give it three and a half stars? I’ll explain myself.

This novel is a “reimagining” of Cinderella but with cyborgs, androids, and a ton of other amazing things. It’s like Star Wars and Cinderella in one. One of the things I loved the most about this book is that even it is based on Cinderella; it really has nothing to do with it. You could forget that fact and still you’d have an amazing story. This is rare with modern reimaginings as they rely too much on the original plot. This one didn’t and I liked that. My favorite thing that was added to the Cinderella plot was the plague. I do not know why, but I’ve always loved it when there is some sort of plague going on in the book.

This doll was used in the Spanish cover of the book. Isn't it fab?

This doll was used in the Spanish cover of the book. Isn’t it fab?

The characters of this novel are probably the best thing. They are three dimensional like you wouldn’t believe. PEOPLE, THERE IS A FREAKING ANDROID THAT IS INTO CELEBRITIES AND FASHION. WE COULD BE BEST FRIENDS. And, of course, we have the good step sister and the evil one. And let’s not forget about the stepmother. And the prince. Oh, Kai. Meyer is really good at making a reader like or dislikes a character. And Kai. Oh, my gosh, probably the best male character. He is nice, sweet, and chivalrous. He is amazing. Also, I’m pretty sure we caught a little glimpse of the character the third book, Crest, is named after…

Now, now, you see all the praise and you’re still wondering why I gave it three and a half stars? Well, it’s because the book is super predictable. There is a big twist at the end, but the thing is, you’re probably going to guess it – and guess it right – during the first 50 pages. There were a lot of other “twists” that were very predictable and this, frankly, ruined the story for me. I like reading a book a gasping at shocking parts, and I did not do that with this book.

Cinder is a book that is filled with great world building and fantastic characters, but if you’re into being shocked, then you probably won’t enjoy this. But don’t get me wrong. I love this book and I am getting the sequel as soon as I finish writing this, but I hope the sequel is less predictable.

An extra little fact: did you know that Marissa Meyer wrote Cinder (which is over 80k words) in around two weeks?!?!?! It was during NaNoWriMo and as some of you might know, you are only supposed to write 50k, but Meyer wrote 150k. 80k of those were Cinder and the rest were for the sequel, Scarlet. I’m pretty sure Marissa Meyer is a cyborg….

-MS

marissa_meyer_10-550x366

 

2 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer Review

Leave a Reply

