giveaway / Guest Blog Posts / laura

Writing Emotions


I’d like you to meet Lorna Peel. About a month and a half ago, I joined Entranced Publishing and became her publicist, and then a few weeks later, I finally made my debut on The Escapism Project, after I had already set up the guest post. Lorna is one of the sweetest ladies I’ve ever met, and I’m so excited for you to meet her today too as she talks about writing emotions. – Laura

 WRITING EMOTIONS

Image

When I find myself writing an emotional scene, I think about a time when I went through the emotion my character is experiencing. I try not to put myself through the wringer again but I think back to when I felt the particular emotion I’m trying to convey. What made me feel that way? What did I think and do? Did I try to hide my emotions? What was my facial expression like? How did I react physically?

Once I’ve done that, I decide how my character would react. What would he or she do when faced with the situation I’m writing about? Will their emotional state make them do something they’ll later regret? How would they react physically? Would it be messy?

I use the setting. Is it a modern or historical setting? Where is the character? What are they seeing? Are they alone or with other characters? Does this influence whether they let their feelings show or try and hide them? I describe the area where the action is taking place, the objects in that setting, and even the other characters, who can help to increase the emotion in a scene.

Readers are seeing everything through the eyes of the main character and the main character’s emotional state will influence what he or she sees, thinks about, and reacts to. I try and avoid using emotional clichés as these are now weak though over use and they make me cringe! I try and use accurate and concise words instead as these will create a more vivid reading experience and readers will be more eager to turn the pages.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

One lucky person is going to win an ebook edition of Lorna’s debut book, Only You!

onlyYou200x300-2

Jane Hollinger is single, divorced, and the wrong side of thirty – as she puts it. Her friends are pressuring her to dive back into London’s dating pool, but she’s content with her quiet life as a genealogy teacher.
Robert Armstrong is every woman’s fantasy: handsome, charming, rich and famous. When he asks her to meet him, she convinces herself it’s because he needs her help with a mystery in his family tree.

Soon she realizes he’s interested in more than her genealogical expertise. Now the paparazzi want a piece of Jane too.

Can Jane handle living — and loving — in the spotlight?

BUY THE BOOK:

 

Amazon (US) | Amazon (UK) | Barnes & Noble | Kobo Books | Smashwords 

 

 

Entries in the giveaway:

PLEASE LEAVE A SEPARATE COMMENT FOR EACH ENTRY OR you will be disqualified. 

 

Follow Lorna Peel on twitter (leave your username).

Follow The Escapism Project on twitter (leave your username).

Follow Lorna’s blog (email you followed with).

Follow Lorna on Pinterest (Leave your username).

Like Lorna on facebook (facebook username).

Like The Escapism Project (facebook username).

 

Also, please leave your email in one of the comments so we can contact you if you win!

 

One thought on “Writing Emotions

  1. Pingback: Writing Emotions – Guest Post and Giveaway! | Lorna Peel

Leave a Reply

