Guest Blog Posts

Writing Under Pressure


WRITING UNDER PRESSURE

Author Photo

To me, writing under pressure has several different meanings. There can be the pressure of writing under a deadline or simply the pressure I put on myself.

I’ve only experienced a deadline with Spirit World, and that was when I was doing my final edits, which believe it or not, was only a month ago. I work full time and have a small child, so the most difficult part was finding the time to work in my revisions and still sleep.

Now, I put tons of pressure on myself, and I think that is harder than having a deadline for a publisher. At the beginning of last year, I had just completed Legasea. I had lots of great feedback, and several people told me, “This is the one. I know it.” But then, I queried it, and got nowhere. Ah, well. Onward to the next thing. Only I couldn’t do it.

I started several novels, all of them fizzling out within a few thousand words. Month after month passed with nothing to show for it. I put tremendous pressure on myself to write something, anything, but it just wasn’t happening.

Finally, in spring of last year, I sent Spirit World to Entranced, and they accepted it! While I have a couple of short stories published, Spirit World was my first “yes” on a novel. I was elated. Shortly after that, I got a contract for Legasea. I think those successes allowed me to finally relax and come up with the idea for a Middle Grade novel, which I have just completed.

What about you? What kind of pressures do you put on yourself?

Spirit World CoverBook Title Spirit World
Author Name Krystalyn Drown
Series Title (if applicable) n/a
Genre Young Adult
Length of Book in pages or word count: 111
Publisher Entranced Publishing

Blurb
All Riesa Adair wants is a normal life. With the end of high school only months away and an outstanding GPA to bolster her college plans, that doesn’t seem like too much to ask.

Unfortunately, the voices screaming in her head keep getting in the way. Somewhere between her summer in a mental institution, and her stepfather’s attempt at an exorcism, she’s learned to keep quiet about her situation. But, pretending to be normal hasn’t prevented the spirit world from taking notice of her. Both sides of an ever-present war have focused in on her. Now she’ll need all the help she can get to escape a powerful spirit threatening to fulfill a prophecy that engenders the entire human world.

Author Bio
Krystalyn spent the past thirteen years working at Walt Disney World in a variety of roles: entertainer, talent coordinator, and character captain. Her degree in theatre as well as many, many hours spent in a dance studio, helped with her job there.

Her various other day jobs have included working in zoology at Sea World, as an elementary teacher, and currently as a support technician for a website. In the evenings, she does mad writing challenges with her sister, who is also an author.

Krystalyn lives near Orlando, Florida with her husband, son, a were cat, and a Yorkie with a Napoleon complex.

Author social media links
Author Website: http://krysteybelle.blogspot.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KrysteyBelle
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/KrystalynDrown/info
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6480737

Leave a Reply

