Author Interviews

Q&A w/ Bestselling Author Erin McCarthy


9781101623152_medium_TrueBestselling author Erin McCarthy discusses writing her first New Adult novel, TRUE.

1. Your contemporary romances are known for being fun, sassy and sexy. How did you change your “voice” or your writing process for TRUE?

I think the voice in TRUE is actually a more natural one for me. When I was trying to publish ten years ago, I wrote dark and angsty, I wrote with heavy emotion, and I kept getting rejected. I started trying different subgenres (historical, comedy, paranormal) and the writing that got the most positive response was my humor, so I ran with it. I basically trained myself to take the things I love- sexy, realistic heroines, alpha males- and create my stories within a sassy contemporary romance package. I’m much funnier in my books that I am in person, and I love the freedom of the snappy dialogue. It’s been fabulous to do both styles.

2. You’ve also written a number of young adult novels. How did you find writing TRUE similar or different from writing traditional YA?

My YA books were both humorous and they were for a younger audience of readers, so while they were in first person like TRUE, and have teen pop culture references, the emotion wasn’t as deep. The huge difference to me in writing young adult versus new adult is that in YA you have to deal with the restrictions that come from having parents present and in control of the characters lives to a certain degree. With college age, parents play an off-camera influential role, but there are no curfews and no behavioral judgments because they’re not there physically.

Erin McCarthyErin McCarthy is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than 40 novels and novellas in the paranormal, contemporary romance, and young adult genres.  The author is a RITA award finalist and an American Library Association winner of the Reluctant Young Reader award. She lives with her family in Ohio.

Website: www.erinmccarthy.net/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/authorerin
Facebook: www.facebook.com/erinmccarthybooks
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7941.Erin_McCarthy

One thought on “Q&A w/ Bestselling Author Erin McCarthy

Leave a Reply

