Challenges / Manuel S.

Camp NaNoWriMo/April Wrap-Up and May To-Read List


So I definitely neglected this blog this month. I posted a few updates, but overall, I was completely missing. This is due to the fact that, as you guys know, Camp NaNoWriMo was going on this month and I was busy with that. And guess what? I won! I wrote 54k words in less than a month! I’m so happy and proud, because this is my first (official) time winning any sort of NaNoWriMo. I wished I could have blogged every single day, but I could not. However, summer is coming up and June Camp NaNoWriMo is happening! So I was thinking that during the month of May, I’ll blog about preparing my new novel for June (Outlining, world-building, characters, etc) and each day during June I will blog and update and share writing tips! So how did Camp NaNoWriMo go for you? Are you proud of what you wrote, even if you didn’t meet your goal?

Also, since I finished Camp early, I had some time to read. And I read more books than I was expecting to. I didn’t write many reviews, but I did read a lot. This is what I read:

Books I Read:

179560_10151181233115233_1570720950_n

Ali’s Pretty Little Lies (Pretty Little Liars prequel)  by Sara Shepard. 3/5 stars.

I am definitely not a big fan of Sara Shepard. I actually kind of hate her – a lot. Almost as much as I hate P.C. Cast. But unlike Cast’s books, Shepard’s books are extremely addicting. The PLL series is a guilty pleasure of mine. Although usually her PLL books are around one or two stars, this one was 3 because it was just that good. I actually liked Ali more than the liars. Which is surprising.

TheLyingGame-front-1

Cross My Heart, Hope To Die (Lying Game #5) by Sara Shepard. 2/5 stars.

Another Sara Shepard book. I know, I know. But this series is so addicting too! This book was horrible, of course, but it left me wanting the next book, which is said to be the last one in the series! (They said the same thing about book 4 but I’m hoping this time it’s the truth!)

The-Evolution-of-Mara-Dyer

The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3) by Michelle Hodkin. 3.5 stars.

This is the sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. This book was really confusing and I still don’t know what this book/series is truly about. I want to read the third and last book so I can decide if I do or do not like this series.

the program

The Program (The Program #1) by Suzanne Young. 5/5 stars.

This book came out today, April 30, but I received an early copy of it and loved it! It was probably the best book I read all month! Although it might be tied with the next book…

every-day-no-tEvery Day by David Levithan. 5/5 stars.

This book was epic! Although it technically was not an LGBT book, like a lot of Levithan’s books are, this one was great! It’s not as good as my favorite book from him, Boy Meets Boy, but this was great nonetheless! I wrote a review and will be posting it soon!

bared-to-you

Bared to You (Crossfire #1) by Sylvia Day. 2/5 stars

Unlike many people, I am a big fan of Fifty Shades of Grey, and I was looking for the next erotica series to read and I was recommended this. Although this book did not live up to Fifty, it was okay. There was too much graphic sex for my taste and I could not connect to a lot of the characters. Also, the sex was described in a really untasteful way. What I loved about Fifty Shades is that the sex was mild and classy (as crazy as that might sound!). Also, a lot of the reactions to sexual abuse were just – wrong and unrealistic. I will be reading the next books in the series, hoping it gets better!

alphas

Alphas (Alphas #1) by Lisi Harrison. 5/5 stars.

I loved, loved this book! Definitely up there with the Clique in my favorite Lisi Harrison books list! It was great and full of back-stabbing drama and romance. Not for everyone, but it’s a really enjoyable and fun read. (Although the girls are really shallow.)

9780316035804_p0_v1_s260x420

Movers & Fakers (Alphas #2) by Lisi Harrison. 3/5 stars.

This was not as great as book one and felt almost like a filler, but it was still a fun read!

9780316035811_p0_v1_s260x420Belle of the Brawl (Alphas #3) by Lisi Harrison

Once again, not as good as the first one, but it was better than the second one. The end kind of killed me and now I only have one book left in the series!!!

So those were all the books I read this month. They were a lot, which makes me really proud. Now, here are the books I want to read this upcoming month!

May To Be Read:

hush-hush

Hush, Hush Series by Becca Fitzpatrick

I am currently reading book one and although it is not the best book in the world, it has an addicting factor to it. Although, I’m noticing a lot of similarities to Twilight (my favorite book/series of all time!) so I think I will definitely end up liking it.

13206760Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

I know, I know. This came out a few months ago and I should have read it waaaaaay back. But the thing is, I wasn’t expecting to like this series as much as I do. I got book one from the library and when I finished it, I knew I just had to buy a copy. So I did and it arrived, but I barely just ordered Scarlet a week ago, so I’m going to have to wait until it arrives! I want to read it before June, because during that month, Marissa Meyer will have a book signing in San Francisco, which is really close to where I live, and I’m hoping to go and get my books signed!

So those are all the books I read and the books I want to read! Now, what books did you read and what books do you want to read this upcoming month? And what do you think about the books I read or want to read? Post your opinion in the comments! I want to hear from all of you!

Now, before I go, I want to announce that I will be doing a May Picture Book Challenge here and on Facebook. Pretty much all there is to it is to follow the prompts for each day and post a picture for the book that corresponds. Here’s the challenge:

Day 01 – Best book you read last year
Day 02 – A book that you’ve read more than 3 times
Day 03 – Your favorite series
Day 04 – Favorite book of your favorite series
Day 05 – A book that makes you happy
Day 06 – A book that makes you sad
Day 07 – Most underrated book
Day 08 – Most overrated book
Day 09 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving
Day 10 – Favorite classic book
Day 11 – A book you hated
Day 12 – A book you used to love but don’t anymore
Day 13 – Your favorite writer
Day 14 – Favorite book of your favorite writer
Day 15 – Favorite male character
Day 16 – Favorite female character
Day 17 – Favorite quote from your favorite book
Day 18 – A book that disappointed you
Day 19 – Favorite book turned into a movie
Day 20 – Favorite romance book
Day 21 – Favorite book from your childhood
Day 22 – Favorite book you own
Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t
Day 24 – A book that you wish more people would’ve read
Day 25 – A character who you can relate to the most
Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something
Day 27 – The most surprising plot twist or ending
Day 28 – Favorite title
Day 29 – A book everyone hated but you liked
Day 30 – Your favorite book of all time

So for example, in day 1, you will post a picture of the best book you read in 2012 and you will do the same thing for each day, except matching the new prompt. I will be doing this and I am hoping you’ll join me!

Have a nice day/night and I hope you have a fun month!

-MS

Leave a Reply

